Home > Awards, Faculty, Flute > Carol Wincenc to be honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2011 National Flute Association convention

Carol Wincenc to be honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2011 National Flute Association convention

March 8, 2011

The National Flute Association will honor Carol Wincenc and Trevor Wye with the organization’s highest honor, the Lifetime Achievement Award, and Katherine Borst Jones with the association’s National Service Award. The 2011 awards will be made in Charlotte, NC at a reception and gala dinner on Saturday, August 13th, during the NFA’s 39th annual convention from August 11 – 14.

The NFA presents its Lifetime Achievement Award to those who have made outstanding contributions to the flute in the course of their careers and its National Service Award to those who have provided extraordinary and sustained service to the NFA. Carol Wincenc is one of today’s international stars of the flute, appearing as soloist with major orchestras around the world and in great demand as a chamber musician.  Deeply committed to expanding the repertoire for flute, she has premiered numerous works written for her by many of today’s most prominent composers. She is on the faculty of the Juilliard School and is Artist in Residence at Stony Brook University. Trevor Wye has a long and distinguished list of publications, including the widely used Practice Books for the Flute, and flutists come from all corners of the globe to study with him. Katherine Borst Jones has served the NFA in every conceivable capacity, including twice as President and as Program Chair for the 1992 convention.

Every year since 1991 the National Flute Association has honored the best and the brightest of its colleagues with the Lifetime Achievement Award. The debut award went to Jean-Pierre Rampal; since that time, luminaries including Julius Baker, Jeanne Baxtresser, Leone Buyse, James Galway and Fenwick Smith have joined the ranks.

The NFA brings together flutists from all over the world, and provides a showcase for exceptionally talented young musicians.  The NFA sponsors 16 competitions to select outstanding flutists to perform at its conventions and to reflect the diverse talents of its members.   Competition winners for 2010 were announced at the NFA convention in Anaheim, which drew 2,873 people, a West Coast record for the organization.

The $5000 first prize for the 2010 Young Artist Competition, which is open to flutists worldwide who are 30 or younger, went to Mercedes Smith (www.MercedesFlute.com), principal flute of the Houston Grand Opera and Houston Ballet orchestras who recently won the audition for principal flute of the Pacific Symphony. Ms. Smith studied with Michael Parloff, Jeanne Baxtresser and Dr. Ronda Mains. The First Place Winner of the High School Soloist Competition and recipient of the Geoffrey Gilbert Prize and Deveau Scholarship is Jiweon Ryu, a student of Judy Grant.  Ryu is a junior at the Walnut Hill School for the Arts in Massachusetts.  The Piccolo Soloist Competition first prize was awarded to Anke Lauwers, who studied at the Conservatory of Antwerp with Peter Verhoyen and Aldo Baerten.  First place in the orchestral competition went to Annie Elmer, a graduate student at Boston University, where she studies with Linda Toote.  For a complete listing of competitions winners, visit nfaonline.org/competitions/2010 winners.

Categories: Awards, Faculty, Flute
%d bloggers like this: