Home > Alumni, Awards, Baroque > Gabriel Shuford (2008 DMA in Harpsichord; MM 2011 in Harpsichord; MM 1999 in Piano) has been awarded the 2011 Baron Prize

Gabriel Shuford (2008 DMA in Harpsichord; MM 2011 in Harpsichord; MM 1999 in Piano) has been awarded the 2011 Baron Prize

June 3, 2011

Gabe Shuford

Gabriel Shuford completed the Doctor of Musical Arts degree in Harpsichord from Stony Brook University in 2008, studying with Professor Arthur Haas. Shuford also completed Master of Music degrees in harpsichord (2001) and piano (1999) from Stony Brook and the Bachelor of Music degree from Lawrence University. Shuford is proficient in a wide-range of styles, from music of the Baroque era, to concert music of the twenty-first century, to jazz. He performs throughout North America and is the recipient of several prizes, including the 2007 Mae and Irving Jurow International Harpsichord Competition.

Faculty member and Jazz trombonist Ray Anderson writes: “I have known Mr. Shuford since 2001 when I first had the pleasure of teaching him in jazz class. His talent, enthusiasm and intellectual curiosity were immediately apparent. Shuford is a generous, gendle, joyful spirit, a true musician, one who brings harmony to the world.” Faculty member and Harpsichordist Arthur Haas writes: “Shuford is a consummate musician and excels at all he puts his mind (or fingers) to. On the final DMA recital he performed music spanning the 17th and 18th centuries from Italy, Germany, and France, and all was done with a superb sense of style, panache, and understanding. Aside from his early music expertise, Shuford has also championed new music and performed much 20th and 21st century music. He has a keen intellectual sense of musical curiosity and is always searching for new means of being expressive on the harpsichord.”

Samuel Baron was a founding faculty member of the Department of Music and director of the Bach Aria Festival at Stony Brook from 1981-1987. Baron was also a founding member of the New York Woodwind Quintet, and in 1996 received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Flute Association.

Previous winners of the Samuel Baron Prize:
2001 Andrée Martin, flute
2003, Borys Medicky, harpsichord
2005, Sang-Joon Park, flute
2007, David Bowlin, violin
2009, Conor Nelson, flute

Categories: Alumni, Awards, Baroque
%d bloggers like this: