Home > Awards, Composition, Faculty > Matthew Barnson Wins a 2015 Guggenheim Award

Matthew Barnson Wins a 2015 Guggenheim Award

April 10, 2015

In its ninety-first competition for the United States and Canada, the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation has awarded 173 Fellowships (including two joint Fellowships) to a diverse group of 175 scholars, artists, and scientists. Appointed on the basis of prior achievement and exceptional promise, the successful candidates were chosen from a group of over 3,100 applicants.

Only eleven composers were awarded a Guggenheim in 2015. This is the second Guggenheim Award to be awarded to one of our faculty composers in the last three years. Professor Sheila Silver was awarded one in 2013.

You can find a complete list of the 2015 recipients here

Categories: Awards, Composition, Faculty
%d bloggers like this: